City-County Consolidated Planning Board

An inter-local agreement between the City of Helena and Lewis and Clark County, dated June 4, 2001, re-established the City-County Consolidated Planning Board. The Board shall perform planning functions for the City and County and shall be the sole Planning Board to serve either or both governmental entities. Duties of this Board will be to ensure the promotion of public health, safety, morals, convenience, order and the general welfare, and for the sake of efficiency and economy in the process of community development, the Board shall prepare a growth policy and serve in an advisory capacity to the local governing bodies establishing said Board.

The nine-member board shall consist of the following:

  • Two (2) official members to reside outside the City limits, but within Lewis & Clark County
  • Two (2) official members who reside within the jurisdictional area of the Board to be appointed by the Board of County Commissioners
  • Four (4) official members to reside within the City limits to be appointed by the City Commission
  • The ninth (9) member to be selected by the eight officers and citizen members provided for from the members of the Board of Supervisors of a conservation district provided for in 76-15-311, MCA.

Terms are three-years.