City Commission

Helena City Commission
(Back left to right): City Attorney Rebecca Dockter, City Manager Tim Burton, Municipal Court Judge Anne Peterson, City Clerk Dannai Clayborn
(Front left to right): Commissioner Andy Shirtliff, Commissioner Emily Dean, Mayor Wilmot Collins, Commissioner Melinda Reed, Commissioner Sean Logan

The City Commission is composed of five voting members, including the mayor. Members of the commission shall be elected for terms of four years; two positions being filled at each general election. The City Commission is a non-partisan body, as mandated by the City Charter, and must be residents of the City of Helena, as well as, qualified electors.

"The City Commission shall be the Legislative and policy determining body of the City. All powers of the city shall be vested in the Commission, except as otherwise provided by law or this Charter, and the Commission shall provide for the exercise thereof and for the performance of all other duties and obligations imposed on the City by law." (City Charter, Section 2.02: 1(PDF, 76KB) .)


Commission Meeting Information


Watch Commission Meetings

City Commission meetings are held in-person and also broadcast through a number of mediums. Recordings of meetings are available on the City Commission's YouTube channel, using the above link. We are working to add meeting videos as time allows. The channel will be updated regularly. 

City Commission Meetings are also available on the Helena Civic Television Channel

HCTV will broadcast City Commission Meetings on Channel 189 & online.

Meeting Schedule

The Regular City Commission meetings are held twice a month at 6:00 p.m. on Monday nights in the City Commission Chambers, City-County Building, 316 N. Park Ave. Administrative meetings are held twice a month at 4:00 p.m. on Wednesdays in Rm 326, City-County Building, 316 N. Park Ave.

2023 Annual City Meeting Schedule(PDF, 112KB)

(PDF, 141KB)
This element requires javascript to be enabled.

Please wait while we load this calendar...