Personnel & Apparatus

2020 department segmented photo

Strategic Responsibilities of Individual Members

The Helena Fire Department is a living organization consisting of members who are committed to each other and the community we protect. As a member, we pledge to exhibit this commitment by:

  • Providing the best possible service to our customers.
  • Recognizing that each member of the Helena Fire Department is important to the makeup of "who we are".
  • Being responsible for the welfare, development and support of the Helena Fire Department and its members.
  • Striving to live by our guiding principles.
  • Managing change and striving to always improve.
  • Recognizing that being a member of the Helena Fire Department is more than a job. It includes commitment to other department members (past and present), citizens and visitors to our community.
  • Striving to leave the Helena Fire Department better than we found it (daily, weekly, monthly and yearly)

Administrative Staff

Fire Chief Jon Campbell 

– began in the Montana Fire Service as a volunteer with Missoula Rural Fire in 1999. He obtained his associate degree in Paramedicine from University of Alaska and worked as a Paramedic in North Carolina before returning to Montana as a Firefighter/Paramedic with Kalispell Fire. Over 16 years with Kalispell Fire Dept. Jon rose to the rank of Assistant Fire Chief of Operations and completed his Bachelor’s in Fire Science Administration. Jon is a confined space rescue, swift water, and hazardous materials technician. Jon moved to Helena in October of 2020 for the Assistant Fire Chief of Training position with his wife and two daughters. He was sworn in as Fire Chief in December of 2021.

Assistant Chief Mike Chambers

– is a Capital High School graduate and Helena native. He spent time away attending college and starting his career at Livingston Fire and Rescue in Livingston, Montana. Mike spent 17 ½ years in Livingston and worked his way up from Firefighter/Paramedic to the position of Fire Inspector/Training Officer, which he held until he was hired with the Helena Fire Department in January 2018. Assistant Chief Chambers has over 20 years of firefighting experience and holds a master’s degree in management and leadership from Western Governors University and is a National Fire Academy, Executive Fire Officer Program graduate as of May 2020. He is married and has three sons.

Assistant Chief


Administrative Coordinator Stephanie Crook

– Joined the department in December 2015. She is married and has one son.

Fire Prevention and Investigation Bureau

Fire Marshal -- Lou Antonick

Deputy Fire Marshal -- Kurt Sheehan

Fire Inspector -- Rob Goebel

Suppression Staff

In alphabetical order by Rank
Battalion Chiefs:
Brandt Buresh  Bob Harvey Neil Koehler


Rob Bennett Doug Fischer Mike McDaniel
Louis Menghini Jason Rigsby Vince Williams


Kasey DeLaHunt Steve Finstad Owen Koeppen
David Maslowski Mark Mitchell Brad Patterson


Seth Banham Dylan Braach Travis Cik
Dillon DeLaHunt Eric Dunn Michael Fobert
David Gambill John Gustafson Adam Harrington
Paxton Miller-Fitzpatrick Chris Mork Jeffrey Murphy
Jeffrie O'Neil Anna Peabody Joseph Pigeon
Steven Reather Isaac Scansen Austin Shupe
Brent Wonderlich Landon Zimmerman  


Firefighter of the Year - 2022 - Christopher Mork
Firefighter of the Year - 2021 - Dillon DeLaHunt
Firefighter of the Year - 2020 - Mark Mitchell


 Command 1  2022 Ford  F-150 XLT 4x4 SuperCrew
 Administration  Command 2  2020 Ford  Explorer Interceptor
 Administration  Command 3  2011 GMC  2500HD 4WD Ext Cab
 Administration  Command 4  2007 Jeep  Grand Cherokee
 Fire Prevention  FPIB 1  2020 Ford   Explorer Interceptor
 Fire Prevention   FPIB 2  2020 Ford  Explorer Interceptor
 Fire Prevention   FPIB 3  2020 Ford  Explorer Interceptor
 Suppression  OIC  2023 Ford  F-150 4x4 SuperCrew
 Suppression  Engine 1  2016 Pierce  PUC - Pumper
 Suppression  Engine 2  2016 Pierce  PUC - Pumper
 Suppression  Engine 3  1999 E-One  1500 Pumper
 Suppression  Truck 1  2022 Pierce  Velocity 100' Aerial PUC
 Suppression  Medical Rescue 1  2018 Ford  F150
 Suppression  Medical Rescue 2  2019 Ford  F150
 Suppression  Wildland 1  2023 Ford  F550
 Suppression  Wildland 2  2005 Ford  F550
 Specialty  Technical Rescue  2006 GMC  Savana Cargo Van
 Specialty  Offroad Response  2014 Polaris  Ranger 6x6
 Specialty  Hazmat 1  2012 Freightliner  Medium Duty
 Specialty  Hazmat Trailer  2004 Crash Rescue  28' Trailer